Arman - Casacade de Violon

Cascade de Violons

Bronze

 28 x 20 x 13 inches

Available

Arman - Sliced Figure with Cello

Sliced figure with cello

Bronze

51 x 21 x 16 inches

Available

Arman - Guitare portugaise

Guitare Portugaise

Bronze

35 x 12 x 3 inches

Available

Violon Rothschild

Bronze

21 x 9 x 9 inches

Not Available

Arman - Hommage à Yves Klein violon bleu

Hommage à Klein Violon bleu

Mixed media

24 x 9 x 9 inches

Not Available

Arman - Violon Brulé

Violon Phoenix

Mixed media

24 x 13 x 6 inches

Available

Violon à Venise

Bronze – 27 x 11 x 4 inches

Available

Ukulele

Bronze – 12 x 13 inches

Available

Bougeoir aux Cuillères

Bronze – 13 x 16 inches

Available

Le Gambit

Resin – 16 x 10 x 10 inches

Available

BIOGRAPHY

|ARMAN|

ARMAN is a recognized artist with more than 500 personal exhibitions dedicated to him. He has conducted research concerning our sentimental relationship to the object, its attachment to it, its accumulation, as well as its destruction, as seen in his series of charred violins

Armand Pierre Fernandez was born on November 17, 1928, in Nice and grew up in his father’s antique store. A brilliant student, he began painting at the age of 10 and joined the School of Decorative Arts in Nice in 1946. At 19, he met Yves Klein and Claude Pascal, who would become his two closest friends. It was the beginning of an exalted youth, his interest in philosophy and the arts of the Far East led him to the Louvre school in Paris in 1949.

Returning to Nice in 1951, his attraction to painting became clearer, under the influence of the Russian painter Serge Poliakoff and Nicolas de Staël. He decides, like Vincent Van Gogh, to sign with his first name: Armand. Influenced by the works of Kurt Schwitters and Jackson Pollock, he tried his hand at stamping and exhibited the first in Paris in 1956. In 1958, during an exhibition at Iris Clert’s, the painter noticed an error imprint on the invitation card: Armand was written without “d”) and it will become his signature.

Inclusion Violon Calciné

Technique mixte – 40 x 28 x 8 cm

Inclusion Violon Brulé

Technique mixte – 77 x 23 x 5 cm

Inclusion Petits Ponts

Technique mixte – 42 x 29 x 9 cm

Ukulele

Bronze – 31 x 35 cm

Ali Baba

Fer vernis et bois – 105 x130 cm

Bougeoir aux Cuillères

Bronze doré – 35 x 43 cm

Le Gambit

Résine – 42 x 27 x 27 cm

Starry Night

Acrylique et brosses larges – 184 x 148 cm

Violon à Venise

Bronze – 70 x 30 x 12 cm

BIOGRAPHIE

ARMAN est un artiste reconnu avec plus de 500 expositions personnelles qui lui ont été consacrées. Il a mené une recherche concernant notre rapport sentimental à l’objet, l’attachement à celui-ci, son accumulation, ainsi que sa destruction, telle qu’elle peut s’observer dans sa série de violons calcinés

Armand Pierre Fernandez  nait le 17 novembre 1928, à Nice et grandit dans la boutique d’antiquités de son père. Élève brillant, il commence à peindre à 10 ans et intégrera l’Ecole des Arts Décoratifs de Nice en 1946. A 19 ans, il rencontre Yves Klein et Claude Pascal, qui deviendront ses deux plus proches amis. C’est le début d’une jeunesse exaltée, son intérêt pour la philosophie et les arts d’Extrême-Orient le conduit à l’école du Louvre à Paris en 1949.

De retour à Nice en 1951, son attrait pour la peinture se précise, sous l’influence du peintre russe Serge Poliakoff et de Nicolas de Staël. Il décide, à l’instar de Vincent Van Gogh, de signer de son prénom: Armand. Influencé par les œuvres de Kurt Schwitters et de Jackson Pollock, il s’essaie à la pratique du tampon et expose les premiers à Paris en 1956. En 1958, à l’occasion d’une exposition chez Iris Clert, le peintre remarque une erreur d’impression sur le carton d’invitation: Armand était écrit sans « d ») et cela deviendra sa signature.